About JRLA

ENTER A LEARNER: EXIT A LEADER. 
At JRLA we develop ACADEMIC HARD SKILLS (the essential knowledge and skills to succeed), ACADEMIC MINDSETS AND SOFT SKILLS (the resilience and adaptiveness to thrive) and IDENTITY, RELEVANCE AND BELONGING (knowing that you matter as a part of something greater than yourself). 

Our History

 

Jalen Rose Leadership Academy (JRLA) is an open enrollment, tuition-free public charter high school on the northwest side of Detroit. The Academy began its first academic year in September 2011 and currently serves over 400 ninth through twelfth grade scholars as well as over 600 alumni from metro Detroit. JRLA provides a leadership-focused education that engages and inspires youth to achieve at the rigorous level necessary to ultimately graduate with a college degree.  Scholars are provided with an authentic academic experience which builds both the skill and will necessary to be successful in high school and beyond.  Immersed in the culture of college, scholars will receive extensive college exposure via university tours and summer program experiences to assist in a seamless transition into college.  JRLA is a 9-16 model where scholars are supported not only through high school graduation, but through college graduation via our College Success team that works to coordinate success for current scholars and alumni.

Board of Directors

 

JRLA's Founders:

Founder and Detroit native Jalen Rose is an ESPN/ABC analyst and 13-year NBA Star who has assembled a team of educational experts and community leaders to turn his dream into a reality.  Mr. Rose brings to the Academy his knowledge of the sports and entertainment industries, commitment to philanthropy and his passion to give back to Detroit. A graduate of Detroit Southwestern High School, Mr. Rose attended the University of Michigan where he was one of five freshman basketball players known as the “Fab Five.”  As a college graduate, he is eager to help Detroit youth achieve the same goal.  Mr. Rose has been instrumental on the planning team and serves as the President of the JRLA Board of Directors.

Jalen Rose

Michael Carter

Co-founder Michael Carter is a Detroit native and successful entrepreneur. Mr. Carter is managing partner of Pinnacle Construction Partners, a multi-state, pre-construction planning and construction management services firm, and the former president and CEO of Athena Health Club and Day Spa in Nashville. As a successful graduate of Project 100, the University of Detroit’s recruitment program to enroll and graduate inner-city youth, Mr. Carter graduated with a B.A. cum laude and a M.B.A. He serves on the UDM Liberal Arts and Education Dean’s Advisory Board. Mr. Carter brings his first-hand experience to the design of the Academy, his commitment to provide resources, and his dedication to improving the future for Detroit youth.  He has been instrumental on the planning team and serves as the President of the Operation Graduation Board.

Current Board Members:

Jalen Rose.jpg
Jalen Rose.jpg
Jalen Rose

President

ESPN/ABC Analyist, CEO Three Tier Entertainment

Denni Archer, Jr.
Dennis Archer, Jr.
Dennis Archer, Jr.

Secretary

CEO/Founder - Ignition Media Group; President - Archer Corporate Services

Jalen Rose.jpg
Greg Boll
Greg Boll

Vice President

CEO, Navigant Oak, LLC

Denni Archer, Jr.
LEigh.png
Leigh Chandler

Director

CAO of Strike Group, LLC

Chris head shot.jpg
Christopher Brochert

Director

Co-Founder/Partner, Lormax Stern Development Co.

Denni Archer, Jr.
Denni Archer, Jr.
Denni Archer, Jr.
Unknown.jpeg
Shawna Forbes

Director

Professor and Former Vice Chancellor/School of Continuing Ed & Workforce Dev, Wayne County Community College District

Dean Brody
Dean Brody

Treasurer

Managing Director, Accenture

Wendy Jackson
Wendy Jackson

Director

Deputy Director, The Kresge Foundation

Jason Langwell
Jason Langwell

Director

EVP, Intersport

A special thanks to our past board members:

 Tonya Allen - Rumia Ambrose Burbank - Honorable Mayor Dave Bing - Tim Gale - John James
Ron Klein - Mick Koster - Diane Manica - Kim Mattes - David Schostak - Neil Weissman

The JRLA Founding Team

The JRLA Founding Team

Jalen Rose, Michael A. Carter, Sr., Mick Koster, Diana ManicaMichelle Ruscitti-Miller, Dr. Barbara Smith and N. Kendell Walton

OUR TEAM

Our team is hard working and relentless towards our goal of providing our scholars with an excellent education.

 

Administrative School Leadership Team

Wendie Lewis, Principal                                   lewisw@jrladetroit.com

Rebecca Kissel, Assistant Principal                kisselr@jrladetroit.com

Katelyn Hoisington, Dean of Students           hoisingtonk@jrladetroit.com

Alexandra BuWalda, Instructional Coach      buwaldaa@jrladetroit.com

Delonte Jones, Dean of Leadership               jonesd@jrladetroit.com

Katteeva James, Dean of Operations             jamesk2@jrladetroit.com

Eugene North, Leadership Coach                  northe@jrladetroit.com

Rhea Cooper, School Social Worker              cooperr@jrladetroit.com

Vickie Willis, SEL Corrdinator                          willisv@jrladetroit.com

Sherry Goosby, Leadership Coach.                goosbys@jrladetroit.com

Demarcus Wingate, Building Sub                  wingated@jrladetroit.com

 

College and Post Secondary Team

Malika Velinor, Dean                                         velinorm@jrladetroit.com

Dr. David Williams, Director                             dwilliams@promiseschools.org

Aliya Spotts,  Advisor                                       spottsa@jrladetroit.com                                          

Office Team

Niki Garcia, Office Manager                            garcian@jrladetroit.com

Silva Howard, Attendance Clerk                    howards@jrladetroit.com

 

Special Education Team

Lyla Abdallah, SPED Coordinator                   abdallahl@jrladetroit.com

Shirley Rowe, SPED Teacher                           rowes@jrladetroit.com

Kim Carter, SPED Teacher                                carterk@jrlasdetroit.com

Instructional Team

Gregory Beamish, English.                           beamishg@jrladetroit.com

Jake Brenner, Algebra II                                brennerj@jrladetroit.com              

Jennifer Chang, Algrebra                              changj@jrladetroit.com

Ryan Dougherty, History                               doughertyr@jrladetroit.com

Corey Edwards, Health & Fitness                edwardsc@jrladetroit.com

Anass El Guermai, Geometry                       elguermaia@jrladetroit.com

Ciara Hamilton, Biology                                 hamiltonc@jrladetroit.com

Ricky Harzula, College Bound Scholars     harzular@jrladetroit.com

Nick Kaczanowski, Civics and Econ            kaczanowskin@jrladetroit.com
Keir Major, World History                               majork@jrladetroit.com

Michael Mitchell, English                              mitchellm@jrladetroit.com

Calvin Nellum, Physics                                  nellumc@jrladetroit.com

Samuel Peterson, English                             petersons@jrladetroit.com

Bryan Raycraft, Spanish                                raycraftb@jrladetroit.com

Reneta Richard, English.                               richardr@jrladetroit.com

Jonathon Speese, English.                            speesej@jrladetroit.com

Courtney Sykes, Biology                               sykesc@jrladetroit.com

Evan Sawyer, Spanish                                    sawyere@jrladetroit.com

Tawania Whitt, Math Intervention                whittt@jrladetroit.com

JRLA News

 

The best way to stay up-to-date about the latest and greatest happenings at JRLA is by following us on social media.

Facebook

Press Release

Twitter